Skip to content

The Invisible Army

Trashmen

For foreign workers on US bases in Iraq and Afghanistan, war can be hell.  This is the story of foreign workers employed as support staff on American military bases in Iraq and Afghanistan.

This article has been published in the June 6, 2011 edition of The New Yorker.  Read the full article here.  Photos by Peter Van Agtmael.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rupert #

    Hi Ms. Stillman -
    I ran across an excertp of your article this morning and finds it really interesting to say the least. I am currently in the service and have spent some time in the Middle East. I have seen quite a bit of what you discuss and is very interested in exploring the topic.

    I am not a subscriber to the New Yorker, but reading the rest of the article might be worth it.

    June 2, 2011
    • Thanks for the note, Rupert. I’d love to hear more about your experiences. Also, let me know the best email for you and I’d be glad to send along a PDF of the story! You can reach me at stillsarah (at) gmail.com.

      June 7, 2011
  2. Brooks Anderson #

    Excellent reporting!

    Keep up the great work.

    June 8, 2011
  3. Liana Asuleen #

    I read your article–very well written might I add– about our infatuation with female murder criminals throughout the years. I was so intrigued by your writing that I quickly found this website and thus the above article. It was quite the eye opener. Great reporting! Great writing!

    October 5, 2011
  4. The Invisible Army – nothing every changes….man has become a technoligical giant, but remains a moral infant…take those who suffer 3rd world & abuse them in another country…nothing changes…maybe the music & clothing trends, but men remain abusers of mankind with no moral compass in working order. Who really cares, I wonder??

    May 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

